high idle switch

95talon

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im still a little new to diesels so take it easy on me....

saw in a few people sigs about a high idle switch or something... whats the reason for that? to get it to warm up faster or what?

architect-builder

Full Access Member
Reaction score
One reason is it allows you to have the truck idle at a rate that keeps the exhaust temps high enough, (above 300 degrees) to prevent causing possible problems (wet stacking) in the winter time.

Another, is it allow you to adjust the idle in the summer to make the AC work better.

And yet another is to keep the batteries charging properly while using items such as winches, etc...

That's just a few serious reasons for it.

And of course, the AIC has lots of buttons, lights, etc... allowing for more of that look in the cab. :sweet

Barrett

tonkadoctor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Also prevents fouling the injectors over extended idling, it's not good to just let a diesel idle at low RPM for a long time.

Some use it to operate a PTO too.

'05 and up trucks have it programmed into the computer and it's a simple mod of hooking up 12v to a certain wire that is already provided by ford in the customer access bundle, there is also a hot in run customer access wire provided under the dash too.

I have mine set up so it goes into high idle automaticly when certain conditions exist.

If I have the engine running and stationary, trans in park and my foot off the brake all I have to do to engage high idle is put the parking brake on. Cost me a whole whopping 2' of wire, 2 butt connectors, a little electrical tape and 10 minutes.

06_KingRanch

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Also prevents fouling the injectors over extended idling, it's not good to just let a diesel idle at low RPM for a long time.

Some use it to operate a PTO too.